Public Notices

County Officials Graduate from Leadership TrainingHeidi Wid

KEARNEY, NE. — Forty county officials from 27 counties received Certificates of Achievement for their participation in the Nebraska Association County Officials (NACO) Institute of Excellence.

The officials were honored during a presentation at NACO’s annual conference in Kearney, Wednesday, December 14th. Wheeler County Treasurer Heidi Wid was awarded a certificate by Nebraska Extension District Director, Dr. Kelly Bruns and NACO President and Banner County Commissioner, Robert Post.

The Institute of Excellence is collaboration between NACO and the University of Nebraska. It provides leadership development for elected and appointed county officials.

The Institute includes face-to-face workshops in North Platte and Lincoln. The 2016 sessions were taught by faculty from Nebraska Extension, the UNL Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication and the UNO Centers for Public Affairs Research, as well as the executive director for the NACO. According to the program’s co-coordinator, Nebraska Extension Educator, Carroll Welte, “the Institute provides county officials an opportunity to learn more about themselves as leaders to better serve their constituencies.”

Since 2010 the Institutes of Excellence have been open to all county officials. Information and registration materials for the 2017 program will be on the Nebraska Association of County Officials website, in early January. For more information about Nebraska Extension leadership programs, contact extension educator, Carroll Welte at or 402.374.2954. 

Carroll Welte
Nebraska Extension Educator, Burt County, Tekamah, NE
Phone: (402)374-2954

Phyllis Schoenholz
Nebraska Extension Educator Emeritus
Phone: 402.366.4281

Jessica Jones
Nebraska Extension Educator, Johnson County
Phone:  402-335-3669